My thoughts on Steve Carell’s departure from ‘The Office’

image from sidereel.com

I’d like to thank my readers who have stuck around the past week. I took a little time away from Raked, and that means that I haven’t responded to one thing that’s sticking in the minds of many a blogger and fan of The Office.

Steve Carell had mentioned that he would leave The Office after next year, but a lot of people thought he was joking. Well, last week, he confirmed it. He really is leaving after next season.

Now, I’ve heard that they want to continue the series, and of course, bloggers everywhere are speculating on who the next “Michael” will be. No, they wouldn’t recast the character (dear God, I hope not, anyway), but they are considering making someone else the boss of Dunder-Mifflin.

In my own opinion, there’s really only one casting option, and that’s Kathy Bates. But even then, I think there’s a stronger choice: Cancel the show.

Sorry, but The Office has run its course. Pam isn’t cute anymore. In fact, she’s kind-of a *itch, with the exception of any time that she and Michael connect. Jim’s not funny anymore. I’m not asking for pranks, but actual one-liners and zings are gone. Dwight and Angela are long past overdone, and while Andy and Erin are cute, can they sustain the series?

The show has gone from season one, where it seemed like an office I’ve experienced, to an over-the-top mess that’s so ridiculous that the funny isn’t sustainable. I wasn’t panicked in the least that Carell would be leaving. His character has pretty much spanned its entire role as well. In fact, Carell might just have the same attitude as Jason Segel of How I Met Your Mother, who also recently declared his end date on his series:

Segel…said he’s done about all he can do with the character of Marshall.

“I don’t really feel like I have that much more to offer with this character. Maybe if we got divorced or something, but that’s not gonna happen,” he added. “It’s gonna be some iteration of, like, my TV wife opens the fridge, and she’s like, “What happened to the birthday cake?” And I walk in with a little frosting here [points to corner of mouth] like, “What birthday cake?”

Where can Michael go from here? Now, I don’t want to put words in Carell’s mouth, but when he blatantly says, “I just think it’s time,” perhaps a few people should get a clue (hello, writers!).

Now, don’t get me wrong. Carell seems to have faith in his castmates. I just don’t. I’m bored with the show. It’s gone from a show that I couldn’t wait to watch to something that’s so ho-hum that I might just toss in a season of Buffy instead. I don’t schedule my Thursday nights for this show anymore, and when you’re talking rearranging you’re talent, a lot of times the show doesn’t come back that great.

The show’s done all it can, and if it were up to me, it would have ended around the time of Pam and Jim’s wedding, if not at their engagement. So losing Carell in a year? This just gives the show opportunity to end before it gets canceled.

4 thoughts on “My thoughts on Steve Carell’s departure from ‘The Office’

  1. I think with Steve Carell leaving, it is a great chance for the show to end. Maybe Michael can get his happy ending with Holly and that’s that. As you stated, most, if not all, of the characters’ storylines have run their course. I don’t think there is anywhere else this show can go.

  2. It really depends on the premise of the show. What was this show all about? If you were to describe the office, wouldnt you start off by saying, “its about this quirky boss…”. And that says it all right there. If you get rid of the very thing that identifies the show, you should get rid if the show. I dont think Kathy Bates could pull this show off, mainly because of how her charater has been set up. The thing about Micheal, is that while everyone else in the show is allowed to grow and change, is gets to hit the reset button between each episode. I dont think Kathy Bates’ character has been set up to do that. The show should end with Micheal quits. Just walks out. And thats the end. End with him walking out the door with his “best Boss” mug and a shot of the shocked faces in the office. Maybe an epilogue scene with Jim and Pam running into him a few months later. His owns a muffin store or something with Holly, i dont know.

  3. “The show has gone from season one, where it seemed like an office I’ve experienced, to an over-the-top mess that’s so ridiculous that the funny isn’t sustainable.”

    A hundred times this. The show was great while it lasted, but it’s about time to put it out of it’s misery. They’ve covered just about all they can at this point, and even the introduction of a new boss won’t be able to make it fresh again.

  4. I should probably say something about Kathy Bates, since I threw that out there with no explanation.

    Personally, my first choice would be to end the show. If not, she would be good. Why? Because she’s so professional and deadpan that she wouldn’t be the main star of the show. Instead of trying to find someone that could be the “star” of the show (despite that it’s an ensemble show), find someone who wouldn’t. She would be a periphery character while the rest of the cast had their chance to shine. The shenanigans would be on their heads, and she would be reactionary.

Leave a Reply

