Vampire Diaries: We All Go a Little Mad Sometimes

VAMPIRE DIARIES: 4.06 “We All Go a Little Mad Sometimes”

I had to take a little time before writing about Vampire Diaries thins week, which has both helped and hurt me. For one, I now don’t remember much about the episode. But on the other hand, a lot of my aggression has gone down.

Aggression? Where did that come from? One word. And it’s an iconic vampire word: Buffy.

I know I should leave all the comparisons at the door, but this episode just screamed Buffy‘s episode “Amends” to me (which is funny, since I’ve compared an episode of this series to “Amends” before).

But in “Amends,” Angel is haunted by ghosts of the people he’s killed, all in the hopes that he’ll kill himself. Being too weak to kill himself, he resigns himself to standing on a hill, waiting for the sun to come up. I won’t tell you the rest, but if you can’t watch it yourself, you can read my review of the episode from last Christmas.

Anyway, as much as I enjoyed the twist that having killed a Hunter, Elena is now cursed to be haunted by her first kill, I didn’t so much like the point of the end result. It all just felt too familiar and unoriginal, all because I’d seen it before. Sure, she didn’t end up on a hill — she ended up on a bridge. But there she was with no daylight ring waiting for the sun to come up.

I was also disappointed to see Katherine’s role in all of it. When the previews hyped Katherine’s return, I really thought we’d see the real Katherine, not the fake ghost Katherine. Somehow, seeing the real Katherine react to Elena’s vamp self would have been so much more interesting.

The only redeeming part of the episode was seeing Damon and Elena. Damon is working for the betterness of Elena, even to the point of being so honest with her about his brother’s intentions. But on the bright side, I did enjoy that Stefan and Elena finally called it quits. I’ve been waiting for that one for forever (of course, I’m a well-known Damon/Elena shipper), but she and Stefan are just so boring! Thank goodness!

So those were my reactions. I guess there’s more to be said about Jeremy (I really wonder what his first kill will mean for him), and I still don’t trust the professor, but that’s all I’ve got right now. What did you think?

One thought on “Vampire Diaries: We All Go a Little Mad Sometimes

  1. I never watched Buffy, so Elena being haunted didn’t bother me too much. I was disappointed in Katherine’s role though. I thought it really was going to be her! I would have liked to see how that scene played out. I wonder if she would have helped Elena through it or not.

    And yes! I loved the part with Damon and Elena and that Elena and Stefan broke up! I am very excited about this as I am also a Damon/Elena shipper. I love these two and can’t wait to see what happens with them.

Leave a Reply

