HIMYM: Wheel. Of. Godparents!

HOW I MET YOUR MOTHER: 8.04 “Who Wants to Be a Godparent”

I’m torn on this episode. On the one hand, the plot felt contrived. On the other, it was funnier than we got, say, last week. But…I just don’t know.

I realize that the whole godparent thing is always a big deal in television (just askĀ Revenge, who’s making the “godparent” role basically the maid of honor for babies, seeing as Emily and Amanda are constantly using it as an excuse to disappear — but I digress). I liked that to Lily and Marshall, it wasn’t just some silly title. It was actually a question of who would take care of Marvin if the worst happened.

But in the real world, I don’t think Lily and Marshall would really be thinking that any of their friends would be in the running. I can understand why Lily’s dad is out of the running, but I didn’t understand why other family members were out. We didn’t hear what was so bad about Marshall’s mother, or Lily’s mother. And heck, I understand why Marshall’s one brother was out of the running, but doesn’t he have something like four more?

All that aside, this is television. Of course, the team would be involved. And I did chuckle at the big game show wheel (and Lily’s excitement at being pretty in her gold dress). The views to the future on how each of these people would take care of the kid…well…they were a bit predictable (except for Robin, who, honestly, with her childhood, would she really want to do everything her father did?). So they were…fine. I guess.

What bugged me about the episode was the ending. Not that they were — all three — chosen as godparents (that, too, was predictable), but the fact that somehow Marshall and Lily were in the wrong here. I totally understood their 8-or-higher rule. And I understood how perhaps the rest of their friends felt left out since they weren’t telling Lily and Marshall about their lives anymore. But part of that was their fault, too. Ted and Robin could have shared what was going on in their relationships without asking Lily and Marshall for 7-or-lower advice. That’s on their side.

But in the end, I think Lily and Marshall were right. Their lives have changed, and they can’t close down the bar anymore. And the reason that none of Robin, Barney, or Ted’s answers were right in the game is because none of them understand what it’s like to be a new parent yet. Lily and Marshall do. They’re just in different stages of their life. So why, in the end, was it Lily and Marshall that felt bad and sacrificed their night’s sleep to close down the bar with their friends?

Yes, the team went to Marvin when he cried at 5:15 in the morning, and that was them giving back, but something rubbed me the wrong way here. I would have minded both sides being a little wrong, but it didn’t seem to play out that way. All the blame seemed to be on Lily and Marshall. I still don’t quite what see what they did wrong.

Maybe you can fill in the blanks here. What’d you think? Am I being too harsh on the singletons?

One thought on “HIMYM: Wheel. Of. Godparents!

  1. No, I think you’re right. It shouldn’t have all been on Lilly and Marshall. The gang was being selfish because they monopolize as much of their friend’s time as they were able to in the past. Instead of accepting the situation and figuring out how to adapt to it (hey, why don’t we come to your place every Thursday to catch up after you put the kid to sleep), they had to lay on the guilt trip. Not cool.

Leave a Reply

