Emmy Nominations: The Yay, the Nay, and the What?!

This morning I woke up like any other day. I got up, took a shower, got ready, and in an attempt to procrastinate those last few minutes before I hopped in my car to go to work, I checked out Twitter. I was five minutes into seeing the announcement of the 2012 Emmy nominations. Needless to say, I was late to work.

I am so excited to finally find out who is up for Emmy nominations this year (particularly the primetime Emmys). But with every new set of awards noms, I have my own reactions. Take a look at some of what I think is great and what I hate (and what I just say, “What?!”). I wish I could be as succinct and elegant as this guy, but hey, I’ll do what I can. I’ll share a few categories below, but to find out all the nominees, be sure to check out the entire list of nominations here.

First and foremost, congratulations to CommunityCommunity was nominated for one award this year (and I’ll get to a few harps on that later), and it was for writing. The episode that got the nod was “Remedial Chaos Theory,” which I think we all can agree was well-deserved. I don’t recall what else is in the category, but I don’t care. I want Community to take it.

Now, for some other categories.

Best comedy
The Big Bang Theory
Curb Your Enthusiasm
Girls
Modern Family
30 Rock
Veep

I’m not all that surprised by the list of comedies, but I can’t say I’m happy. Not only is Community not listed (no surprise there), but neither is Happy Endings or Parks and Rec. There are some good series not accounted for (and yes, I’m glad Two and a Half Men didn’t make the list), and I’m so sick of seeing Modern Family on the list. Almost all of the major players of the series got a nomination of various forms this year, and here we have best comedy. It’s an overdone show with used jokes, and it’s just not as fresh and exciting as it was in season one. Let someone else have a turn. (You too, Big Bang.) And can someone explain to me how Veep made the list?

Best drama
Boardwalk Empire
Breaking Bad
Downton Abbey
Game of Thrones
Homeland
Mad Men

Once again, no surprises — except to note that no major networks’ dramas made the list this year. If you don’t think cable and premium networks are the place to be, this list might be your indication.

Lead actress in drama
Kathy Bates, Harry’s Law
Glenn Close, Damages
Claire Danes, Homeland
Julianna Margulies, The Good Wife
Michelle Dockery, Downton Abbey
Elisabeth Moss, Mad Men

Lead actor in a drama
Hugh Bonneville, Downton Abbey
Steve Buscemi, Boardwalk Empire
Bryan Cranston, Breaking Bad
Jon Hamm, Mad Men
Damian Lewis, Homeland
Michael C. Hall, Dexter

The actors and actresses listed in these categories don’t surprise me, except for one. Considering how much Harry’s Law has been disrespected, I’m surprised to see Kathy Bates make the cut.

Lead actress in a comedy
Zooey Deschanel, New Girl
Lena Dunham, Girls
Edie Falco, Nurse Jackie
Tina Fey, 30 Rock
Julia Louis-Dreyfus, Veep
Melissa McCarthy, Mike & Molly
Amy Poehler, Parks and Recreation

Lead actor in a comedy
Alec Baldwin, 30 Rock
Don Cheadle, House of Lies
Louis C.K., Louie
Jon Cryer, Two and a Half Men
Larry David, Curb Your Enthusiasm
Jim Parsons, The Big Bang Theory

Now here is where things get surprising — and annoying. Yet again, we have Jon Cryer and Jim Parsons. But I’m surprised to suddenly see Curb making the list. As for the ladies, much like last year, I’m not thrilled to see Melissa McCarthy on the list, and I still don’t know how Veep got in there. Zooey Deschanel is great and all, but a bit predictable. Of anyone there, I just hope Amy Poehler goes home with a trophy.

Best supporting actress, comedy
Mayim Bialik, The Big Bang Theory
Kathryn Joosten, Desperate Housewives
Julie Bowen, Modern Family
Sofia Vergara, Modern Family
Merritt Wever, Nurse Jackie
Kristen Wiig, Saturday Night Live

Best supporting actor, comedy

Ed O’Neill, Modern Family
Jesse Tyler Ferguson, Modern Family
Ty Burrell, Modern Family
Eric Stonestreet, Modern Family
Max Greenfield, New Girl
Bill Hader, Saturday Night Live

Oh, the supporting characters. While I’m ignoring anything SNL and Modern Family, I’m THRILLED (and let’s face it, shocked) to see Max Greenfield on the list. Schmidt for the win! Another surprise — and this time a sweet one — Kathryn Joosten from Desperate Housewives. Joosten died a while back, shortly after the finale, it’s just nice that she’s getting honored with a nomination.

Best supporting actress, drama
Anna Gunn, Breaking Bad
Maggie Smith, Downton Abbey
Joanne Froggatt, Downton Abbey
Archie Panjabi, The Good Wife
Christine Baranski, The Good Wife
Christina Hendricks, Mad Men

Best supporting actor, drama
Aaron Paul, Breaking Bad
Giancarlo Esposito, Breaking Bad
Brendan Coyle, Downton Abbey
Jim Carter, Downton Abbey
Peter Dinklage, Game of Thrones
Jared Harris, Mad Men 

I don’t have much to say about this women in this category, but I’m thrilled to see Peter Dinklage nominated again. Equally so, the surprising nomination of Jared Harris. After being killed twice on screen this year, it’s nice to see him get his recognition, especially for his final episode of Mad Men.

Best miniseries or movie
Game Change
American Horror Story
Hatfield & McCoys
Hemingway & Gellhorn
Luther
Sherlock: A Scandal in Belgravia

I’m not going into all of the actors for miniseries, but I have one major complaint: American Horror Story as a miniseries? That certainly feels like they cheated themselves into a nomination. Yes, the season wrapped up the story in thirteen episodes, but considering that it’s coming back for another season with many of the same actors, I think think this was the wrong choice for a category. I find it sneaky and generally bleck. If it were up for a drama, there’s no chance it would be on this list.

And finally…

Best guest actress in a drama
Martha Plimpton, The Good Wife
Loretta Devine, Grey’s Anatomy
Jean Smart, Harry’s Law
Julia Ormond, Mad Men
Joan Cusack, Shameless
Uma Thurman, Smash

Best guest actor in a drama series
Mark Margolis, Breaking Bad
Dylan Baker, The Good Wife
Michael J. Fox, The Good Wife
Dickie Bennett, Justified
Ben Feldman, Mad Men
Jason Ritter, Parenthood

Ok, so if you’re interested in comedies, check them out on the full list, but let’s just rest here a moment. Ben Feldman? A surprise, but given I’m a Drop Dead Diva fan, I’m glad he’s getting his moment to shine. Jason Ritter, though? I’m a big Ritter fan, but even I can see that while he had a good role in the series and did a good job with it, he wasn’t stand-out.

As for the ladies. Uma Thurman? Sheesh! Where did they come up with these? If anything it tells us one thing: Alexis Bledel was so bad in Mad Men that she couldn’t even beat out Uma Thurman in Smash for a nomination.

Well, those were my long, windy reactions. What were yours?

2 thoughts on “Emmy Nominations: The Yay, the Nay, and the What?!

  1. It really is a travesty that Uma Thurman was nominated. Nothing related to Smash should be anywhere near an Emmy! They should all be too busy with tech anyway.

  2. I’m happy to see Martha Plimpton for The Good Wife dropped in there, but I REALLY love Carrie Preston as Elsbeth, Alicia’s hilariously “scatterbrained” attorney.

    I refuse to dwell on Parks and Rec’s snub although I thought Lucy Liu deserved a nod for guest star on Southland.

Leave a Reply

