Thursday Open Thread: Most Memorable TV Wedding Episodes

Welcome! It’s a new year with new Thursday Open Threads. Or at least it better be. I’m going to do my best to keep up with them this year, especially given the lack of threads in December. Whoops.

Anyway, this week, I decided to choose something that feels odd to talk about in the first week of January, but I’m going to do it anyway. Earlier this week, E! released an early look at Blair’s wedding dress from Gossip Girl. Now, I don’t watch Gossip Girl. I didn’t even know Blair was getting married. But I do like weddings, and it naturally reminded me of Brooke’s wedding dress in One Tree Hill, and I just started thinking about TV weddings. Which makes me ask…

What are some of the most memorable TV wedding episode?

This could be weddings that happened — or almost happened. After all, TV is most painful when the wedding is called off, right? And that certainly makes something memorable.

Now, this may be a test of the demographic of my readership, as I’m sure that some people would just have to say Bo and Hope from Days of Our Lives. Of course, I don’t remember this. This was in 1985. Any TV I was watching then was more what was happening on Sesame Street than Salem.

And, of course, the One Tree Hill  brides come to mind, mainly because with the exception of Brooke and Julian, they all seem to end in some horrible way – the bride collapses in a bloody mess or a kid gets kidnapped by a psycho nanny. Oh, and let’s not forget the limo being driven off a bridge, and the groom jumps off after it, leaving a crying bride screaming after it.

Ok, so that might be the most memorable.

But here’s another alternative. How about we go back to the old family sitcom? How about Jesse and Becky from Full House? Jesse goes skydiving the day of his wedding (naturally) and then gets stuck in a tree, falls in a tomato truck, and gets put in jail. Of course! Oh, in the end it’s all happy. In fact, you can watch Jesse’s song here (man, how could I forget the impromptu gospel choir at my own wedding?).

Oh, who am I kidding? One Tree Hill wins. What do you think is most memorable?

5 thoughts on “Thursday Open Thread: Most Memorable TV Wedding Episodes

  1. On Boston.com today there is an article of the most memorable weddings of 2011 (tv and real ones)! Anyway, I would have to say Luke and Laura’s wedding from General Hopsital might be the most memorable even though I didn’t see it since it was in the 1981. I think they had as many viewers as Princess Diana’s wedding! My all time favorite though would probably be Zack and Kelly’s wedding from Saved by the Bell. It was in Vegas and Zack’s parents didn’t approve, but by the end it all worked out.

  2. I’d love to say that the most memorable TV wedding is something cool, but, quite frankly, whenever I think of a TV wedding, I think of the wedding of Ross & Emily from Friends. It is easily the winner hands down, though I wouldn’t consider it a great episode. It was just very memorable due to Ross’s mixup during the vows and everyone’s obsession with Ross & Rachel at that time. In my opinion, it’s also the exact point where Friends began to go downhill as a quality show. In fact, when I run across a rerun of Friends, I immediately try to place the episode as a pre- or post-“I, Ross, take thee Rachel” episode in order to determine whether it’s actually worth staying on the channel or not.

  3. I’d have to go with Donna & David’s wedding on 90210. It was a long time coming & even Brendan showed up for it and everything. I just remember watching it thinking: finally. But I would have to agree that One Tree Hill has had a lot of memorable weddings the past 8 seasons. One that you forgot was Keith’s wedding where he got left at the alter thanks to his brother Dan.

    http://mclairjeune.wordpress.com/

  4. I’m actually partially ashamed I didn’t remember Friends. One of my Twitter followers (and fellow TV blogger), TVDoneWright, actually brought up the Friends weddings, too. It’s not just Ross and Emily (which was certainly memorable), but Monica and Chandler, Susan and Carol. I even mentioned Phoebe and Mike, with their wedding in the snow.

    Seriously, quite ashamed that I didn’t remember when writing this post.

  5. I can’t say that I remember any of the Friends weddings except the Ross & Emily wedding. The Chandler/Monica and Phoebe/Mike weddings were non-events to me as I’d lost interest in Friends by that point. By then, all the characters had seemed to become caricatures of themselves, in my opinion.

Leave a Reply

