Catching Up on ‘Vampire Diaries’

THE VAMPIRE DIARIES: 3.02 “The Hybrid”
THE VAMPIRE DIARIES: 3.03 “The End of the Affair”
THE VAMPIRE DIARIES: 3.04 “Disturbing Behavior”

I’m a little embarrassed that I haven’t written about Vampire Diaries lately. I’ve actually been doing a pretty good job of watching the show on Thursday, but writing about it has become a bit of a time-management struggle. I’ll try to fix that in the uture.

But anyway, on to the show. The season isn’t as bad as I thought it’d be, but I can’t say I’m all that enthralled. I still think it’s an incredibly bad mistake to lean the entire season on Stefan. I find him to be completely boring, which has been what I’ve been saying for the past two seasons. I don’t care if Stefan’s evil. I don’t care if he’s good. I really just don’t care about Stefan. And I’m a little disappointed. After Stefan remembered his past, including his old feelings for Rebecca, I did hope that we would really see a different side of Stefan, but no. Thursday’s episode proved to be more of the same. He’s still boring.

And the plot is just as complicated as before. As soon as Rebecca was introduced, I sighed. Another Original? We’re not over the Original storyline? Funnily enough, I like Rebecca. She’s much more threatening than Klaus (I still get no fearful rumblings from seeing Klaus, which might be why this story is still boring), and she’s just entertaining. But I want to get out of this obsession with the Original. It was too long and too boring last season; I don’t want more of the same.

Which it looks like we’re getting. I like the fact that they’re back in Mystic Falls, but Klaus’ pursuit of the doppelganger all over again makes me roll my eyes. We need something non-Klaus this season.

Now, Caroline is a different story. So is Jeremy. Both of them have great storylines, and I look forward to finding out more. Anna, for some reason, is much more tolerable ghostly than alive, and I want to know why she and Nikki are there. And there’s the question of who to trust. Last episode makes me think we should trust Anna, but I don’t know. Why shouldn’t we be trusting Nikki?

As for Caroline, I don’t think we’re seeing the last of her dad. At least, I hope not. That was probably the best storyline we had going for a while — not the fact that he’s her dad, but that he thinks he can actually cleanse people from being vampires. Could he really leave that easily? I hope not.

And what about Alaric? His alcoholism is getting a little old, but I think he took a new turn in this last episode. Suddenly wanting to join the Council. And his ring. If it really did take him longer to come to life, do you think that could be wearing off? Perhaps Damon wasn’t being serious when he asked, but it did get me thinking…

Anyway, I just really hoped this season would be different. Is that too much to ask for? Yet, I can’t stop watching. Well, we’ll see, I guess.

One thought on “Catching Up on ‘Vampire Diaries’

  1. I have been enjoying the season so far, but I agree with you. I think it would have been a good twist to have Stefan actually turn “evil” when he remembered Klaus and Rebecca. Then I wouldn’t mind this whole storyline lasting longer.

    I’m really enjoying the Caroline and Tyler story. The whole thing with her dad was very interesting and I look forward to seeing where that goes. And I’m glad Alaric decided to move in with Elena and Jeremy. It’s nice for them to have some sort of guardian even though Elena is old enough.

    And I actually don’t mind Jeremy too much this season! I didn’t like the idea of him with Bonnie, but now I think it works.

Leave a Reply

