Trailer Talk: Ringer

The Fall is coming! The Fall is coming! And it’s about time I start writing about some of these upcoming series. So for the next couple weeks until premieres actually start, you’ll see me writing some early impressions based on two things: description and trailer. You can decide on your own what you think of a series, but I’ll give you my impressions first.

Ringer
Series Premiere: Tuesday, September 13, at 9/8c on the CW

Sarah Michelle Gellar stars as a woman who, after witnessing a murder, goes on the run, hiding out by assuming the life of her wealthy identical twin sister – only to learn that her sister’s seemingly idyllic life is just as complicated and dangerous as the one she’s trying to leave behind. Bridget is six months sober and starting to turn her life around when she is the sole witness to a professional hit. Despite the assurances of her FBI protector, Agent Victor Machado, Bridget knows her life is on the line. She flees to New York, telling no one, not even her Narcotics Anonymous sponsor, Malcolm. In New York, Bridget reunites with her estranged twin, Siobhan. Wealthy, pampered and married to the strikingly handsome Andrew Martin, Siobhan lives what appears to be a fairy tale life – a life where no one knows that Bridget exists. The sisters seem to be mending their frayed relationship, until Siobhan disappears overboard during a boat trip, and Bridget makes the split decision to take on her sister’s identity. She discovers shocking secrets, not only about her sister and her marriage, but also about Siobhan’s best friend, Gemma, and Gemma’s husband, Henry. And when someone tries to kill Bridget in her sister’s penthouse, she realizes she is no safer as Siobhan than she is as herself.

My Thoughts: OMG. We’re less than a week away. Every time I watch the promo I get goosebumps. Is it because Sarah Michelle Gellar is back on TV? Maybe. Is it because this because that haunting phone ringing gets me every time, even though I know that Siobhan is going to answer? Definitely.

Ok, so I have some reservations. First, I can’t stand it when someone takes over another identity or loses their memory, then finds out that there’s a lover in the picture and the guy goes, “We’ve slept together a thousand times.” It just feels forced. Figure out another way to do it.

Second, is this show sustainable? I mean, how long can you really go with the mystery? Eventually, Siobhan is going to have to make an appearance, right? How annoying would she be just sitting in her Parisian flat answering the phone? And once she makes an appearance, then how much is left? And I’m not the only one who thinks that way.

Third, it’s on the wrong network. Sorry, CW, but I just don’t think your audience matches this show. Originally, it had been pitched to CBS. While CBS always reminds me of procedurals when I think drama, do I do think the audience would have matched a little better.

All that being said, I’m so excited. Just thrilled. I mean, the cast is great. While I don’t know Siobhan’s husband, we’ve got Sarah Michelle Gellar (of course, a fan), Kristoffer Polaha of LUX fame, and Nestor Carbonell. Huzzah! And really, it just looks interesting. The twins have a good backstory (which is lacking on a lot of twin shows), and I’m just looking forward to seeing where it goes.

So I’ll be watching with fingers crossed. Will you?

2 thoughts on “Trailer Talk: Ringer

  1. Pingback: Thursday Open Thread: Most Anticipated New Series « Raked

  2. Pingback: Ringer: I’m Intrigued, but… (This time, with words!) « Raked

Leave a Reply

