Southland: Back on the Streets

Good news for fans of non-procedural cop dramas:

Southland has been renewed for a third season by TNT!

Needless to say, I’m very happy. This has been one of my favorite shows since its first episode. The press release linked above is a bit sparse on details, but it does mention that the network has ordered 10 new shows for the next season, which was larger than the original seven episode order by NBC. The release also notes that Southland has the youngest median age of any TNT original series, which, hopefully, is a good sign.

I do wonder if the budget will be reduced for each episode, and I’m curious, as Alan Seppinwall voices here, how many of the admittedly large cast will return.

Right now, though, I’m just going to enjoy this announcement. One of the best written shows on TV is back. Give it time, TNT, and this show will grow bigger and bigger. I promise.

7 thoughts on “Southland: Back on the Streets

  1. I’m so excited. I’m so…scared! Just kidding. I’m THRILLED. What a deserving show to get a second–nay, third!–chance.

  2. That is so cute (and awesome)! Hahaha. I love MS Paint art. :-) I totally want to make a T-shirt.

  3. It’s aired on ABC but they dropped syndication (thus dropping a massive audience) so LotS was shopping for a new network (I believe). I guess they never found one.

Leave a Reply

