Good news, genre fans!

image courtesy ABC

Call it coincidence if you like, but my theory is that the stars have aligned for sci-fi and fantasy to return to the airwaves.  After long hiatuses, we’re about to see the return of V, Merlin, and Doctor Who.

V, off the air since November, returns under the direction of a new showrunner.  Maureen Ryan has had great coverage the last few days, so let me just point you over to her.  I shared her reservations about the show’s first four episodes last fall (here are my posts if you want to relive the snark), but she actually has me excited for V‘s return tonight.  Cool!

Merlin‘s first season aired on NBC last summer, but since the peacock network seems incapable of recognizing anything good these days, they’ve given it up — season two begins this Friday on SyFy.  The show is hardly the Arthurian legend you grew up with, but I think it’s good fun and I’m definitely ready for more.

Doctor Who returns this Saturday if you’re in the UK (or, you know, use bit torrent).  In the US, the TARDIS will arrive two weeks later: April 17 on BBC America.  Expect new stars and new writers, but the same old lovably insane alien time traveler.  After the generally disappointing specials we got last year instead of a regular season, this has me very excited.

Honorable mention (shows for nerds, shows about nerds — it fits, right?):  Glee comes back April 13!  I don’t love that both Glee and V have moved to Tuesday nights, but there we are.  I’ve heard all sorts of exciting hints about what’s to come — an all Madonna episode, Idina Menzel guest starring, Neil Patrick Harris guest starring, Joss Whedon directing — so I’m hoping that this show has shed the Baby Drama and is ready to shoot for the stars.

And a last note, genre fans:  I don’t cover Castle because it would turn into this big list of “hey, that bit was funny, and this thing was really clever” (um, sort of the way my How I Met Your Mother posts do) but I do love a good mystery from time to time.  Last night’s solution to the cliffhanger was great… but did you catch the Firefly reference near the end?

6 thoughts on “Good news, genre fans!

  1. Darn. Why does V have to be at the same time as Southland and Parenthood? I certainly hope it can compete. Out of those three, Parenthood’s the one I care least about, and sadly, it seems to have the safest formula for any of these three shows for consistent viewership and renewal power.

  2. Yeah Merlin!!! I have watched all of season 1 on Hulu – somehow missed it last summer – and cannot wait for season 2. My 11 year old loves it too. Great overall family show. Has something for everyone.

  3. great to hear from the other Dr Who fans. I’m currious to see how the new guy holds up. I pretty much bought my red converse shoes based on the Tennant Dr. Hope you post reviews, I would love to read them. Also in the genre, Stargate Univerese starts back up on Friday.

  4. There will definitely be reviews for Who. :D Expect them to follow the same schedule as the US broadcast dates.

    I always thought that Converse and Doctor Who should get together for some kind of promotion or marketing campaign or something. Mine are blue, but I’m still certain they could help me save the universe in a pinch.

  5. FYI for Merlin fans – it looks like SyFy is airing the previous week’s episode Fridays at 7:00, and the new episode at 10. This is good news for old folks like me who can’t make it until 11:00!!

  6. I noticed that USA was airing last Friday’s Merlin episode last night. Can’t remember the time, but it was late.

Leave a Reply

