Recap Review: iCarly

iCARLY: Season 2, Volume 1

I know what you’re thinking: How come Raked spends so much time covering Disney Channel shows, when she doesn’t even glance at anything on Nickelodeon? Well, that’s all about to change. Not only have I watched an entire two-disk DVD set of iCarly that, yes, included an iCarly movie (where they go to Japan), but I even have True Jackson VP waiting for me to take a gander at for a later Recap Review.

Yes, tweens, you can all start celebrating.

Not that I’ll particularly try to catch new episodes online. At least not on purpose. We’ll see.

Anyway, I had been curious about this show for a while. Not because I tend to watch a lot of tween TV (which I do, unless Demi Lovato and Jonas Brothers is on it–which automatically raises Nick up in the rankings), but because I knew this show in particular is the main competitor against Hannah Montana. Do you Hannah or do you Carly?

Now, I will say this: I was able to sit down and watch the entire two-disk set in one sitting. True, I was doing other things while I watched, but I didn’t feel the need to turn on something else and I got up to switch disks, so clearly, it’s watchable.

And I enjoyed the characters. It took me a while to get used to Sam. She seemed a little over-the-top, but you know, that’s just how she’s supposed to be. A little more tomboy than, say, Lily of HM, but eventually quite enjoyable.

I most enjoyed Carly’s brother Spencer. Now, since I’m coming into this series a little late, I’m not actually sure why she’s living with her brother (maybe you can fill me in), but I liked him. Especially the running gag that everything he touches seems to light on fire. Now, that’s something that could easily fall under the lame-o joke category, but since it was so sporadic, I liked it.

What I didn’t like was the iCarly web show. I didn’t check to see if the real iCarly website hosted the web show they put together. But to me, it wasn’t very funny. Maybe I’m just too old.

I also can’t quite believe that their web show would be that popular. Sending them to Japan? Winning in Japan (though making them perform to find out if they won seems kinda ridiculous–base it on the show, people)? Getting so many hits that they get responses with money?

But I did appreciate that they grabbed up a trend: the fact that kids are turning to the internet for entertainment. They even made a joke, as they watched America Sings and another commercial break confronted them: “This is why kids are watching things on the internet!” I paraphrase, of course.

Anyway, it wasn’t a bad introduction to the show. One could even say I enjoyed it. I don’t really know whether I’ll think to just toss in the DVD later, but the first round was ok.

So way to go, Nick. I can now see why your Carly and Hannah are at odds.

2 thoughts on “Recap Review: iCarly

  1. Pingback: Recap Review: True Jackson VP « Raked

  2. Pingback: OMG! I iHeart iCarly? « Raked

Leave a Reply

