Recap Reviews: The Best Years Season 1, Disk 1

the-best-yearsTHE BEST YEARS SEASON 1: Disk 1 (Episodes 1-4)

The good thing about having nothing on currently on Tuesday nights (ok, so Reaper was on and I missed again, bad me) is that I can catch up on my nifty Recap Reviews.

For example, last night, I caught up with this show, The Best Years. Now, I don’t get The N network, so this show is new to me. But it’s your basic girl goes to college and meets new people–in a drama. Of course, this particular girl is one that was tossed from foster home to foster home and is trying to make it in the big world on her own with a full scholarship (one that doesn’t even cover a meal plan). Oh, yeah. Plus, she and her friends see someone die on their second day of O-week (or Frosh week, as they called it).

To be honest, it’s a twist that you don’t see coming, especially if all you’ve read is the back panel of the DVD set. But then again, that makes all the difference. It adds a sense of originality, plus a deeper crack between all the characters, that would otherwise just be a show with stereotypical characters that we’ve seen time and time again.

I’ve only watched the first disk so far, which means the first four episodes, but so far, I’m intrigued by the show. Sure, it’s got your regular college issues: sorority rush and trouble with the RA. And of course, there’s over-the-top characterization, like the fact that the star of the basketball team has his own calendar, and girls are dying to win a date with him. (The winner, of course, was the lunch lady. And why wouldn’t it be?) Throw in some less-than-complicated love triangles, and you’re set. Oh, and the occasional (cough, cough, every episode) underage drinking, of course.

But otherwise, it’s a fun watch. I mean, the fact that I could sit down and watch four episodes in a row should give you a good feeling. Plus, I found this nice New York Times article from when it was first aired, and I don’t appear to be the only one. It’s no Undeclared, but what can be? If you prefer more of the Dawson’s Creek and Felicity dramas, this might be more up your alley.

Anyway, I’ll dive into more as I find time to watch the rest of the season. If you’ve got The N, I hear season 2 is coming on this spring, so if you want to check it out, looks like you’ve got options. Plus, the show takes place in Boston (at a fictional university), so you get some great shots of the city now and again. From a Bostoner’s perspective, I like it, though sometimes there are a few too many between scenes.

One final note: I must say that I’m glad I’m no longer in college. After seeing some of those dresses those girls had to wear to go party, I’m so glad I was in the black pants and sparkly top crowd way back when.

7 thoughts on “Recap Reviews: The Best Years Season 1, Disk 1

  1. Pingback: Posts about DVD Reviews as of March 18, 2009 » DVD Newsroom

  2. I still maintain that the basketball star is no where near tall enough to be an NBA prospect! :)

  3. Haha. To be honest, his hair bugs me. I keep seeing the cover art in the corner of my eye and thinking he was a girl in the background. But at least he pulls it back and doesn’t go all Corbin Bleu on us.

  4. Pingback: Recap Reviews: The Best Years Season 1, Disk 2 « Raked

  5. Pingback: Um, did ‘The Best Years’ just end? « Raked

  6. Pingback: Thursday Open Thread: Major letdowns « Raked

Leave a Reply

